Friday, July 20, 2012

Four more Utah counties declared disaster areas

The U.S. Department of Agriculture on Wednesday declared four more counties in Utah as primary disaster areas because of damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat, bringing the number of designated counties in the state to 20.

Utah’s remaining nine counties have been declared vulnerable because of their close proximity to primary disaster areas. All qualify for emergency government loans.

The additional disaster areas in Utah are Garfield, Kane, Wasatch and Wayne counties. They are among 39 additional counties in eight states declared as primary natural disaster areas. Salt Lake Tribune